Faq’s

Do I have to take Drivers Ed?
If you are under the age of 18, you are required by California law to complete Drivers Ed as well as 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training before you can get your license.

Do I have to have a permit before taking driving lessons?
Yes. Regardless of your age, you must pass the written DMV test and obtain a valid instruction permit before taking lessons on public roads.

How long is my learner’s permit valid?
Your California instruction permit is valid for one year from the date of issue. If your permit expires, you must renew it at the DMV before you can continue taking in-car lessons.

Can I drive by myself with a permit?
No. If you have a learner’s permit and are under 18, you must be accompanied by a licensed California driver who is 25 years or older sitting in the front passenger seat. Driving alone on a permit is illegal.

How long do I have to wait to take my driving test after getting a permit?
If you are under 18, you must hold your provisional permit for a minimum of 6 months and complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice (including 10 hours at night) before you can take the DMV behind-the-wheel drive test.

Am I covered by insurance during lessons?
Yes! When you take Behind-the-Wheel lessons with All Season Driving School, you are fully covered under our comprehensive commercial driving school insurance and bonding.

Can I use the instructor’s car for my DMV drive test?
Yes! We offer the use of our dual-control vehicle for your official DMV drive test. This service includes door-to-door pickup, a warm-up practice session before the test, and assistance through the DMV testing process.

Is All Season Driving School certified and licensed by the DMV?
Yes! All Season Driving School is officially licensed and bonded by the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles (Occupational License #E4221). All our instructors are background-checked and state-certified.

Do you offer free pickup and dropoff?
Yes! We provide complimentary door-to-door pickup and dropoff at your home, school, or workplace for all behind-the-wheel appointments throughout our service territory.

What is your cancellation and rescheduling policy?
We require at least 48 hours notice to cancel or reschedule a driving lesson without fee. Cancellations made with less than 48 hours notice will incur a $60 fee. For Monday appointments, notice must be given by Friday end of business.


Common mistakes that may require you to return on another day and stand in line again.
Going to take the written test and:

  • Only having one parent signature on the application
  • Didn’t bring one of the required pieces of paperwork

Going to take the driving test and:

  • Forgot to make an appointment
  • Didn’t bring one of the required pieces of paperwork
  • Insurance or registration form is out of date
  • Something on the vehicle does not work or is not safe
  • The windshield has a crack in it

If you had an appointment and couldn’t take the test for some of the reasons mentioned above you can…
Make another appointment (DMV’s are usually booked 15-25 days ahead).
Ask if you can return and be on stand-by. This does not mean you will be able to test later. If someone fails to show up, most DMV’s will work you in. However, some days they are too busy, short-handed, or already overbooked and cannot accommodate you.
Note: the vehicle that you use must:

  • Have working turn signals and brake lights
  • Have a working horn
  • Have a crack-free windshield
  • Have front and rear license plates (or temporary form if new or newly purchased)
  • Have a working driver’s window
  • Have seat belts and secure seats and doors
  • Be free from any hazardous condition